Things I learned from writing my first full-length play.

Formatting in Microsoft word is not fun. Especially not action directions.

Proper formatting is my favourite or least favourite thing, depending on how fast I want to write.

I have a chronic habit of forgetting which way is Stage Left and Stage Right.

Telling a story almost entirely though dialogue has given me a newfound sense of characterization that I can carry into prose.

Speaking dialogue aloud to myself really helps.

Out of all the characters I’ve written, Samantha Drysdale is firmly one of my favourites.

For me, plays CANNOT be done quickly.

It’s not procrastination, it’s letting it steep for a while.

Do I add lighting cues? Do I not add lighting cues?

Ctrl-E, ALL CAPS, Enter, Ctrl-E, tab, Dialogue, Enter, Enter, Ctrl-E, ALL CAPS, Enter, Ctrl-E, tab, Dialogue, Enter…

Tab, Tab, Tab, Tab, Parenthesis, Acti-, Shift-Enter, Tab, Tab, Tab, Tab, Space, -on, Parenthesis

Hopefully another good idea comes around. I want to write another one.

Leave a Reply

